Home » Training Syllabus

Training Syllabus

All cadets take part in the Training Syllabus, which is followed throughout their cadet service. The following gives an outline of the scheme at each level. For further information, an A4 sheet can be downloaded by clicking here. You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view the A4 sheet, which is available as a free download from Adobe’s website at www.adobe.com and is available for Windows, Mac, Linux and other operating systems.

This page also gives some information on nationally recognised qualifications that each cadet can receive while taking part in the training syllabus.

1st Class Cadet

For the First Class Cadet badge, you must be enrolled and must have completed the full syllabus of subjects. The First Class Cadet examination is made up of seven subjects. These are: Map Reading, Initial Expedition Training, History of the RAF, History of the ATC, History of Flight and Airmanship I.

Leading Cadet

For the Leading Cadet badge, you must have already taken and passed the First Class Cadet examination and completed the full syllabus for the Leading Cadet examinations while having done at least 25 hours of project work. There are three subjects to study for the Leading Cadet exam: Basic Navigation, Principles of Flight and Airmanship II.

Senior Cadet

For the Senior Cadet badge, cadets must have taken and passed the Leading Cadet examination and completed the full syllabus for the Senior Cadet examination, while having done 25 hours or more of project work. A cadet has to choose two subjects for this exam from the following four: Aircraft Navigation, Propulsion, Aircraft Handling and Advanced Radio and Radar.

Staff Cadet (Parts 1 and 2)

To be eligible to sit either Part 1 or Part 2 of the Staff Cadet examination, cadets must have taken and passed the Senior Cadet examination, reached the age of at least fifteen years and six months, completed the Staff Cadet syllabus including approved citizenship training and a further 25 hours or more project training. Staff Cadets must also have completed the First Class shot test within the last twelve months, it would also be a great advantage if you had been to at least one of the ATC Annual camps. There are two parts to this exam. This first is similar to the Senior Cadet examination. You must choose two from the following subjects: Pilot Navigation, Airframes, Operational Flying and Satellite Communications must be chosen and studied. This part of the exam, like the others before it, is set by Headquarters Air Cadets. The second part is completed in the squadron and your Wing Staff Officer assesses you on your knowledge of the Corps and your lecture technique.

BTEC in Aviation Studies

ALL cadets are eligible for the award. The full award is gained when a cadet successfully completes the ATC syllabus i.e. passes examinations at Leading, Senior and Staff (Part 1) levels.

The examination subjects are split into units and 3 units must be completed to gain the award. 1 unit is mandatory and covers the subjects Basic Aviation, Airmanship and Principles of Navigation. These topics are covered by the Leading cadet syllabus.

For the remaining two units, the cadet can chose from the following subjects which equate to 1/2 a unit: Aircraft handling, Propulsion, Air Navigation, Advanced Radio and Radar, Operational Flying, Airframes, Pilot Navigation, and Satellite Communications.

BTEC First Diploma in Public Services

The Cadet Force programmes have long been dedicated to helping 13 – 18 year olds learn self-confidence and improve skills including Problem Solving Communications, Leadership and Teamwork.

Through an innovative new programme developed by The Cadet Vocational Qualifications Office (CVQO), all cadets over 16 have the opportunity to earn a BTEC First Diploma in Public Service – the equivalent of 4 GCSEs at A to C level (4 Standard Grades at levels 1 – 3 in Scotland).

The Cadet programme is currently the only national youth organisation offering young people the opportunity to achieve these valuable skills as well as the option to gain a diploma that is nationally recognised and respected to employers as well as institutes of Higher Education.